Selfie Update

22 Jun

I have been flat chat – assignments, study, uni hurdle tasks, moving house etc etc – and unfortunately this blog has been neglected :S. I think that instead of making false promises and attempt to create big weekly/fortnightly/monthly posts, I’m going to post 1 recipe per week. I think this will make it a lot more consistent and easier for me. I hate that I’ve left this post so long, so I want to apologise to you all!!

 

Update on where I’m at:

– Just finished my 1st semester of 4th year medicine/surgery, which for me was a long GP rotation – now have 2 weeks of holiday!!!

– A little over 2 years with my man ❤

– Starting an IDEA CEC online course on Women and Weights

– Still promoting the IDEA World Fitness Convention!! As Australian Representative I’m trying to bring awareness to Australia about this amazing fitness and nutrition event in Los Angeles

– Chosen to receive a part sponsorship from Enduro Supplements!!! (Didn’t receive a full sponsorship as I’m not an elite sports person haha) (endurowhey.com.au)

– Entered Oxygen Australia covergirl competition! I haven’t taken the photo that people can vote on yet, but when I will I’ll let you know and I’d love your support

– Organising to potentially do a BMedSci year with CORE (Centre of Obesity Research and Education) in which I will research the long term effectiveness of lap band surgery on decreasing cardiovascular risk factors and diabetes management

– Article published on www.drjoe.net.au

– Recipes soon to be published on ultimateyou.com.au/magazine

– Received 300 likes on learnlovelift facebook page

– Volunteering with RSPCA

– Just started Ashley Conrad’s 21-day Clutch Cut program (www.bodybuilding.com/fun/ashley-conrads-21-day-clutch-cut.html)

– Ordered Protein Pow’s e-book (can’t wait for it to arrive)

– Eating clean and training mean (always!! <3)

– And yes, I pledge that I will be posting on this blog more frequently!

So that’s me. Keeping busy!! I feel like I’m finally making some slow progress 🙂

 

Motivation: Jennifer Nicole Lee

2012-03-11 06.46.55

 

Chili Chicken Stir Fry

I had this for lunch today and it’s really good. I chose to have it just with SlimPasta noodles, but feel free to have it with rice/soba noodles/or on it’s own!

2013-06-22 14.36.50

Serves 3

Sesame or peanut oil

500g chicken breast – diced

2 tsp crushed garlic

3cm piece of ginger – peeled and finely grated

4 spring onions – chopped into 3cm pieces

1 red chili – diced

1 bunch choy sum or bok choy (I’ve made it with both) – trimmed

2 tbsp oyster sauce

1/2 cup unsalted cashews

1/2 cup fresh basil leaves

Heat wok over high heat until hot, then drizzle in some of the oil. Cook the chicken until browned (may need to cook in 2 batches, depending how big your wok is)

Put chicken in a bowl to the side

Drizzle a little more oil in the wok and stir-fry the garlic, ginger, spring onions and chili for 30 seconds

Add choy sum/bok choy and stir-fry for another minute

Throw the cooked chicken back in the wok along with the 2 tbsp of oyster sauce

Stir-fry for another minute

Stir in the cashews and basil leaves, then serve!

 

Nutritional info: per serve

Calories: 303

Total fat: 10.3 (2g sat)

Total carbs: 8.5g

Sugar: 4g

Total protein: 44.9g

 

Set yourself some goals and live your life!! Do not fear failure, fear not trying. x

Leave a Reply

